A Birthday, The tale of two villages, and the IAC 261

Standard

WP_20131119_001

Today is her 2nd birthday. I haven’t even met her yet and already miss her. I am missing her birthday today. Next month, I will miss a Christmas. Yuck. I am hoping that in 2 weeks when we are there maybe we can sorta do something for her birthday. I am still not sure what will happen with the visits when we get there. I have heard some people get 1.5 hours twice a day at the social work office. I have heard others essentially get to spend the entire day with their children from breakfast to supper. I’ll be happy with the time I get, but I know no matter how much it is it will never be enough. I’m greedy like that.

On Saturday, I learned that there were two villages in Bulgaria with the same name that is listed in my daugter’s file as being the village in which she and her foster family live. Naturally the two villages are nowhere near each other 1 village is in extreme Southern Bulgaria about 2 miles from the border with Greece the other village-of-the-same-name is more in central Bulgaria north of Plovdiv and about 70 miles east of Sofia. Up until Saturday I had no idea that there were two. I had only heard of the one near the border. Today, I learned that we will actually be staying near the village nearer to Plovdiv and Sofia. Which actually makes our in-country travel quite a bit easier.

Because of this I was able to make hotel reservations today. So with Flights booked and hotels booked I am hoping that my stress level goes down a bit. I doubt it, but since I have to work up until 17 hours before I leave for the airport I am hoping that my general anxiety/hyperactivity/nervousness/excitibility will settle down somehow.

In some sort of bizarre benefit to the above state of emotions I have begun to lose some of the weight I put on during the dossier paperwork prepapration process. Maybe nature does have a balance to all things after all…

I have taken the rest of this blog post (with permission) from Viviane a fellow adoptive Mom who has two beautiful kids and whose daughter Emilia came home from Bulgaria 2 years ago! I have linked Viviane’s blog in the link’s section for sometime as she is super-awesome and she updates us all when the IAC or match results come out. Today the results for IAC #261 done on October 9 were made public. (We are #14!)

Tuesday, November 19, 2013
IAC 261 Results

The following referrals were issued in IAC Session 261 which was held on October 9, 2013:

1) Cyprus dossier from May 2009 referred a male child aged 2 years and 8 months

2) Danish dossier from March 2010 referred a male child aged 2 years

3) US dossier from June 2010 referred a female child aged 2 years and 3 months with features in health status

4) US dossier from October 2010 referred a male child aged 2 years and 6 months with features in health status and a family history

5) Italian dossier from December 2010 referred a female child aged 2 years and 5 months with features in health status

6) Dutch dossier from May 2011 referred a female child aged 2 years and 5 months with features in health status

7) Italian dossier from June 2011 referred a male child aged 7 years and 9 months

8) US dossier from July 2011 referred a female child aged 1 year and 6 months with features in health status

9) US dossier from December 2011 referred a male child aged 2 years and 1 month with features in health status

10) US dossier from March 2012 referred a female child aged 8 years and 9 months

11) Italian dossier from May 2012 referred a female child aged 8 years and 4 months with features in health status and a family history

12) US dossier from July 2012 referred a female child aged 1 year and 7 months with features in health status

13) Italian dossier from February 2013 referred a male child aged 7 years and 4 months with a family history

14) US dossier from March 2013 referred a female child aged 1 year and 11 months with features in health status

15) Italian dossier from April 2013 referred a male child aged 9 years and 4 months

16) US dossier from September 2013 referred a waiting child (#613) with a profile on the MOJ site

17) Canadian dossier from September 2013 referred a waiting child (#2185) with a profile on the MOJ site

18) US dossier from October 2013 referred two waiting children (#1406 & #2679) with profiles on the MOJ site
Posted by Viviane at 10:06 AM

Leave a Reply

