Travel Dates

Standard

I probably could have written a blog post everyday this week. But I was already only getting about 4 hours of sleep a night anyway so here is what happened.

Monday: I got the rest of the information on my daughter. No suprises. Well, not really. It would seem that all of her medical conditions boil down to the fact that she was born weighing 1 lb, 15 oz. Given that I am suprised she is doing as well as she is. So we signed the paperwork accepting her match and let our agency know. We got the paperwork notarized that day and overnighted it to them in Georgia. We also learned where she lives (and presumably) where we will be travelling too. It is a very remote village in Southern Bulgaria, about 2 miles from the border with Greece. We Googled it and I decided that my savvy notion of traveling on this trip with just a carry-on bag was dead-in-the-water. I am bringing a checked bag packed mostly with stuff just for her. I feel internally pretty guilty about judging some apparantly wonderful people based on some images of their village I found on Google, but conditions there looked very, very, poor. If she is going to be my responsibility, then I feel it is my responsibility to start supporting her in everyway I can (legally do so) now.

Tuesday: Was my sister’s birthday. And an adventure in birthday-pie making with 2 10-week old kittens in the house. The second pie turned out great. I suspect the first pie was fine too, but after I had turned my back on it Monday night and it turned into kitten jungle-gym I declared it unfit for human consumption. This was also the day I learned that I had to get my own FBI fingerprints redone. ASAP.

Wednesday: Did the fingerprinting. It was a bit of an adventure as almost the same instant I walked into have the fingerprints done, the enitre police force rushed out of the police department to respond to a pharmacy robbery. 3 hours and 47 minutes later they were able to finally get to me. And I was able to get the clearance request off to the FBI.

Thursday: More details on what will happen between trips 1 and 2…and I thought I would be bored. HA! Follow this blog for details on what happens in between. It all looks pretty confusing on paper.

Friday: Got word on travel dates. November 30-December 7. Booked Flights (I am so hoping that those dates don’t change). Boston to London to Sofia then back the same way. Even though it is a 2.5 hour drive to Boston, if we left out of Portland we could not avoid an additional stop in the US AND it would add 7-10 hours to our flight/layover times AND our tickets would cost AT LEAST $200 more per person. We would only save 1.5 hours of drive time. Plus on trip #2, we will be ending our journey in Boston, as my daughter will be immigrating into the US when we land there and we really don’t want to have to worry about trying to catch another flight if that process turns out to be at all unpredictable.

This mean that I will be leaving to see my daughter in 2 weeks. 2 WEEKS. A little over a week ago we were still in the longest wait of my life and now BOOM! My life exploded. And I do mean that quite literally. This house is a mess. Half the stuff I want to bring to Bulgaria is on my desk. When I was making my bed this morning I found a tape measure in it (I vaguely remember using it last weekend to see if the changing table fits in the bathroom, I have no idea how it ended up in my bed), and the dust bunnies are starting to breed. I probably should do something about that.

Leave a Reply

