Adoption Education

Standard

To adopt from Bulgaria (a country that is party to the Hauge convention) 10 hours of adoption education are required.

Last year I completed the Hague Package (15 hours at that time) from Adoption Training Online. . It was an excellent package, but in my opinion it doesn’t cover anywhere near the education required to parent children with special needs (especially those dealing with the unique challenges of adoption).

Prior to persuing International Adoption I attended over 44 hours on training related to Foster care and Adoption challenges, much of which will be extremely helpful with this adoption. Since taking the Hague-Required courses last fall I have read over 2 dozen books on International adoption and related issues. I have plans to read a few more but thus far I have found the following ones to be very useful: The Happiest Toddler on the Block by Harvey Karp M.D., The Attachment Parenting Book by William Sears M.D. and Martha Sears R.N., Toddler Adoption-A Weaver’s Craft by Mary Hopkins-Best, The Complete Single Mother by Andrea Engbar and Leah Klugness, Simplicity Parenting by Kim John Payne, Attaching in Adoption by Deborah Gray, Beyond the Rainbow Bridge by Barbara Patterson, and Bebe Day by Day by Pamela Druckerman. At the very minimum I would reccomend that anyone persuing Internation Adoption read Attaching in Adoption and Toddler Adoption- A Weaver’s Craft.

Take in addition to all of the above all the classes I took in College on Psychology, Developmental Psychology, and Pediatric Nursing…

And I’m still not sure that I feel entirely educated on the issue.

Education is a lifelong process and I know that I have only just begun my education on International Adoption and related issues, but this (I hope) is a good start.

Today, a fellow adoptive parent brought up this in one of the Bulgaria Groups on Facebook. The following website Adoption Learning Partners is offering 5 free hours of Adoption Education through the end of November 2013.

Leave a Reply

