Still Waiting

Standard

No word yet on my dossier. However on Tuesday Bulgaria did name a new (temporary) government including a new minister of justice.

Turned 29 this week (I’m told it’s the last birthday a grown woman celebrates). Had a great day at the Spa. Massage, swiming in the (indoor) pool, hot tub, sauna. It was AMAZING! Topped it off afterwards to a trip to Starbucks and some Cheesecake Factory cheesecake. Then had dinner with my family that evening where they indulged my geek side by giving me The Hobbit on blu ray (I can pick it up on Tuesday) and Breaking Dawn Part 2. (Twilight series is my embarassing weakness (Team Jacob) but I proclaim my love for The Hobbit and all things Lord of the Rings rather proudly).

Read another library book. This one was not really adoption-related although it was mentioned. Title: The Complete Single Mother by Andrea Engber and Leah Klungness. A very good read for anyone (like me) who is choosing to be a single parent (adoption or not), and it also has some very good advice for those who have found themselves a single parent without choosing to do so. As a former single foster mom I can attest that being a single parent is not for the faint of heart. But it is also one of the most rewarding things you will ever do. Having grown up in the uber-traditional American nuclear family I can point out a few benefits of single parenthood:

1. There isn’t an ongoing debate/congressional hearing on what the family is going to have for dinner. You decide. End of story. (This goes for vacation destinations too…)
2. The kids have no appeal process when it comes to bedtime.
3. You know if the kids have eaten/bathed/slept/etc. Because you were somehow involved.
4. No sharing the car seat between 2 vehicles.
5. You become a multitasking guru. (Sure, I entertained a toddler, cooked a gormet meal, did a load of laundry, and fixed the basement sump pump (while taking on the phone) at the same time last night…tell me again how you can pat your head and rub your stomach at the same time?)
6. You gain super-senses. You can hear a spider sneeze in the middle of the night. You can smell an unripe diaper from the other side of the city (although this just may be a Mom thing).

That said: No single parent can parent alone. I would have not survived my expereinces without the help of my family and friends. And it is that wonderful support network that I am joyfully taking along on this journey. And we are all eagerly awaiting news. Hopefully not for too much longer.

Leave a Reply

