In the news

Standard

Out little adoption crisis had made national news headlines! You can follow the link below to see Time’s article. NPR ran the exact same thing.

http://nation.time.com/2013/02/11/2-u-s-adoption-agencies-closing-citing-woes-abroad/

I consider myself lucky to have weathered this storm so well. But to say there has been no impact would be lying. Since last week I have had to come up with $1,452.12 to continue my adoption. It is nothing compared to the loss some have experienced over the course of Adoption Ark closing, but it is still a significant financial hit. But, it could have been much worse. Much, MUCH worse. It is due entirely to the graciousness of One World that this has been as small as it has been. It’s hard to put this behind me, but I’m trying my best to forgive. My newfound mistrust/uneasiness I feel is going to make for an even harder time as I wait for my referral.

I am still passing the time the best I can. The last week has been e-mails and phone calls (and even more paperwork) but inbetween times I continue on my reading list. I’ve just finished “Parenting Your Internationally Adopted Child” by Patty Cogen. If “The Attachment Parenting Book” was a beautiful impressionist painting (the ones that show landscapes and sunsets and you go “Wow, I wish I was THERE!”) then “Parenting Your Internationally Adopted Child” is an angry modern art piece (the ones where the artist has put nails and barbed wire on the canvas). It’s art. It’s relevant. But you definitely walk away from the expereince with an enitirely different feeling. I think that is a good thing. I’ll see all perspectives in these parenting books and hopefully the truth will lie somewhere in the middle.

Leave a Reply

